Unofficial Results: Bobby Jackson Elected as Commissioner, Kristi Jenkins to Board of Education in District 2 Runoff

Voters have chosen new representation in District 2 of Washington County.

The General Primary Runoff Election for District 2 seats on the Board of Commissioners and Board of Education was held on Tuesday, June 21.

Following no candidate receiving more than 50 percent of the vote in the May 24 General Primary Election, a runoff was enacted by the Washington County Board of Elections.

Bobby Jackson has defeated incumbent Edward Burten, Jr. to become the Washington County Commissioner for District 2.

Jackson received 312 votes, or 60.7 percent. Burten, Jr. received 202 votes, or 39.3 percent.

Edward Burten, Jr. was the candidate that received the greatest number of votes in last month’s election prior to the runoff.

The District 2 race was the only contested election on the Board of Commissioners. All other incumbents ran unopposed.

Kristi Jenkins is set to assume the District 2 seat on the Washington County Board of Education by defeating John “Zack” Webb.

Jenkins received 331 votes, or 63.8 percent. Webb received 188 votes, or 36.2 percent.

Prior to the runoff, Kristi Jenkins was the candidate that received the greatest number of votes in last month’s election.

No incumbents sought reelection for their position on the Board of Education. Only one candidate ran unopposed.

The new Washington County Board of Commissioners includes:

Chairperson: Incumbent Horace Daniel
District 1: Incumbent Doug Watkins
District 2: Bobby Jackson
District 3: Incumbent James Hitchcock
District 4: Incumbent Frank Simmons, Jr.

Washington County’s new Board of Education features:

Chairperson: Robbie Blocker, Jr.
District 1: Dr. Alan Gray
District 2: Kristi Jenkins
District 3: Leigh Jordan
District 4: Melvin Williams

District 2 of Washington County includes portions of Davisboro, Riddleville, Sandersville, and Warthen.

The above results are unofficial and incomplete until further reviewed by the Office of the Georgia Secretary of State.